Search our site...

Australia Day

Australia Day Award nominations now open

Nominations are now open for the South Burnett region’s annual Australia Day Awards for 2023. The awards will be presented on Sunday 22 January 2023 at the Nanango Showgrounds.

These awards allow equal opportunity across the entire South Burnett to recognise the invaluable work being done by the many local community groups and individuals.

Award nominations will be judged by a panel of people drawn from throughout the South Burnett.

Award categories are as follows:

  • South Burnett Citizen of the Year
  • South Burnett Young Citizen of the Year
  • South Burnett Junior Cultural Award
  • South Burnett Senior Cultural Award
  • South Burnett Junior Sportsperson
  • South Burnett Senior Sportsperson
  • South Burnett Sports Administrator/Coach/Official Award
  • South Burnett Community Organisation of the Year
  • South Burnett Volunteer of the Year
  • South Burnett Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Local Achiever Award (Town & Rural)

The nomination form for the major awards is available here.

The nomination form for the Local Achiever Awards is available here.

Nominations close at 4.30pm on Friday 11 November 2022.

For further information regarding Australia Day in the South Burnett contact Council’s Executive Services team on 4189 9100 or email


Previous South Burnett Australia Day Award Winners

Want to step back in time? Access previous South Burnett Australia Day Award Winners below: