Search our site...

South Burnett Regional Council announces the 2020 Australia Day Award recipients


South Burnett Regional Council announced its 2020 Australia Day Award recipients at the region’s official awards ceremony held on the eve of Australia Day, Saturday 25 January, at the Kingaroy Town Hall.

The event kicked off with a flag raising ceremony conducted by the 135 Army Cadet Unit followed by the official opening and welcome by MC John Carey. This was followed by an address from Australia Day Ambassador Emeritus Professor Ken Donald AO and Affirmation Ceremony. The Australian National Anthem was then sung by Sue Dowideit-Reiger.

Chief Executive Officer Mark Pitt said “Having your name put forward for an award is a great honour and shows great recognition and appreciation from your local community. I congratulate our award recipients and sincerely thank both our nominees and our community for their support with this event.”

Congratulations to the following 2020 Australia Day Award recipients:



Mark Beil

South Burnett Citizen of the Year

Brenna Prendergast

South Burnett Young Citizen of the Year

Murgon Junior Rugby Club

South Burnett Community Organisation

Glenda Perry

South Burnett Lifetime Achievement

John Power

South Burnett Volunteer of the Year

Lee Porter

South Burnett Cultural Award (Senior)

Emma Stewart

South Burnett Cultural Award (Junior)

Neil Collard

South Burnett Sportsperson of the Year (Senior)

Paige O'Connor

South Burnett Sportsperson of the Year (Junior)

Chris Bodey

South Burnett Sportsperson (Coach/Official or Administrator)

John Duffy

Local Achiever Award - Nanango

Michael Murphy

Local Achiever Award - Kingaroy

Heath & Roweena Sander

Local Achiever Award - Murgon

Linda Rea

Local Achiever Award - Hivesville/Proston

Chris Bodey

Local Achiever Award – Wondai/Tingoora

For further information regarding Australia Day in the South Burnett contact Council’s Executive Services team on 4189 9100 or email Council.

Australia Day