Search our site...

2021 Queensland Greats Awards are open for Nomination


Council is thrilled to announce the 2021 Queensland Greats Awards are now open for nomination.

In 2020, this Queensland Government initiative celebrated 20 years of recognising exceptional individuals and institutions for their contribution to our great State.

Since the awards’ inception in 2001, 102 individuals, 16 institutions, 6 posthumous and 1 honorary recipient have been honoured as Queensland Greats.

The 2020 recipients were announced on Queensland Day, 6 June and included seven outstanding individuals – Nancy Bates OAM, Angus Lane OAM, Father Mick Lowcock OAM, Bruce Morcombe OAM, Denise Morcombe OAM, Associate Professor James Morton AM and Betty Taylor. The 2020 posthumous recipient was Richard (Darby) McCarthy OAM and PCYC Queensland was the worthy recipient of the institution award.

Mayor Brett Otto said, “I urge you to nominate at least one individual or institution from within the South Burnett who has made a long-term contribution to, or whose achievements have significantly impacted, the history and development of Queensland. Nominations are encouraged across one or more of three categories – individual, institution and posthumous.”

Nominations close Friday 29 January 2021.

For further information about the awards or to make a nomination visit the Queensland Greats Awards website.

qld greats awards